ALARM CLOCK 10: God’s Alarm Clocks

778alarm_clockWe all owe the man who invented the alarm clock radio a heart felt thanks.  I am still baffled by those who insist on waking up to obnoxious beeps or irritating buzzers.  

I still remember my first year of college, living on a dormitory floor with some thirty other freshmen.  Every morning as I walked to the shower, I would pass through a symphony—or cacophony!—of alarms all ringing, chiming, buzzing, and beeping to their own tone, tempo and volume.  Some even began softly and gradually grew louder until they became so unbearable its victim was forced to react.  

My roommate Peter, however, brought with him a high-tech stereo that would wake us up to any song we chose the night before. Instead of being jolted from a peaceful slumber by an aggravating alarm, we could drift slowly back to consciousness to the pleasant ballads of James Taylor or the soothing melodies of Enya.   There is no question which type of alarm I would rather have welcoming in the new day.  

Again, we find a ready parallel in the writings of Paul.  As Christians go forth sounding the alarm of the gospel, announcing the arrival of God’s New Day, we should avoid using noisy gongs and clanging symbols to do the job.  

In Paul’s famous “Love Poem” he warns Christians of the kind of religiosity that produces a dissonance that detracts others from God rather than drawing them in.  “If I have no love, my speech is no more than a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal” (1 Cor 13:1).  Instead of peacefully drawing others to the kitchen table, this loud banging of pots and pans just sends them deeper under the covers.  

On the other hand, when the community of God reflects the love of Christ, we become a beautiful symphony, or in Paul’s words, “a choir—not our voices only, but our very lives singing in harmony in a stunning anthem to the God and Father of our Master Jesus” (Rom 15:6 MSG).  

Far too many people have rejected the wake up call because of a negative alarm clock experience.   Let us put away our noisy gongs and clanging symbols and become the chorus of God’s morning melody.  As we aspire to lead quiet lives we will begin to win the hearts of day sleepers (1 Thes 4:11-12).  

So let your nightlights shine gently through the bedroom door, and in time they will see your good deeds and wake up to glorify your Father in heaven (Matt 5:16).   

Reflection Questions:

1. What kind of alarm clock do you have?  Beeper?  Buzzer?  Radio?  Mother?  Other?  

2. What kind of spiritual alarm clock experience did you have when you first woke up to God?  Pleasant, loving and gentle?  Rude, abrupt and loud?  

3. Do you know any “pots and pan” Christians who like to go around making as much noise as they can with their faith?  Do they tend to win people to Christ or scare them away?  

4. What’s the best way for you to wake up your friends who are asleep to God?  What approach should you take?  


Discover more from Kingdom Harbor

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.


16 thoughts on “ALARM CLOCK 10: God’s Alarm Clocks

  1. The article is nothing, but the truth. We all need a “special alarm” a wake-up call, if you please, because our redemption is drawing near. (Mark 13:5-8).

  2. I would love to add that in case you do not already have got an insurance policy
    or maybe you do not belong to any group insurance,
    you might well make use of seeking aid from a health insurance professional.
    Self-employed or people having medical conditions usually seek the help
    of any health insurance brokerage service. Thanks for your text.

  3. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and
    i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  4. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more
    useful than ever before.

  5. F*ckin’ remarkable things here. I am very
    glad to see your post. Thanks a lot and i am looking forward
    to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  6. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so
    I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m
    book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Excellent blog and wonderful design.

  7. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites?

    I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

  8. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find
    the majority of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome web site!

  9. Great blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thanks!

  10. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for information about this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered till now.
    But, what about the conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

  11. Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to
    start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  12. I do agree with all the ideas you have presented in your post.

    They are very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are very short for novices.
    Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thanks
    for the post.

Leave a comment