Bono & the Psalms

I’m going to see U2’s 30th Anniversary Joshua Tree Tour concert at U.S. Bank Stadium in a few weeks. My only other U2 concert was their Popmart Tour 20 years ago at the Metro Dome (a horrible echo-chamber for concerts). Needless to say, it’s about time. I’m pumped.

I’m a long time fan of U2 and an even more intrigued by Bono’s Christian faith and fresh spiritual perspective. A great place to start is Steve Stockman’s book Walk On: The Spiritual Journey of U2. A very fascinating read.

I thought I had died and gone to Heaven a year ago when I discovered a mini film documentary bringing together Bono, a musical genius, with one of my greatest spiritual influences, Eugene Peterson, for a discussion on the Psalms. This is a gem. Stop reading now, and watch this short, irresistibly charming film about a most unlikely friendship.

Fuller has just released some more interview clips with Bono discussing faith and the Psalms, Christian music, fear of death, and the importance of honesty in our relationship with God. I’m getting excited to go see this rock ‘n roll prophet in September.

Here’s a sample of the continuing conversation with Bono on the Psalms.

Leave a Reply

