Who’s Your Shepherd? (5)

PSALM 23 REWRITTEN

(WORRY)

Worry is my shepherd, I can’t turn it off.

Worry never lets me lie down and rest,

It leads me beside waterfalls of “what ifs.”

Worry torments my soul.

Worry guides me down safe paths only,

I’m afraid to step out, embrace change, really live!

Worry makes even minor trials seem like

the valley of the shadow of death.

I let fear drive my decisions,

and I forget that you are with me.

You invade my thoughts,

and take away my peace of mind.

You play out the worst case scenario

in every situation, driving my loved ones crazy.

You give me a migraine,

medication seems my only defense.

Surely worry and anxiety will follow me

all the days of my life,

and I will have to live with these uncontrollable thoughts forever.

Leave a Reply

