Life Verses 1: Intro

Most people don’t read the Bible at all.  Some Christians read them a bit,  trying to apply a “daily verse” to their life somehow. Few experience what you might call “inhabiting Scripture” — entering into the text, plumbing its depths, making your home in a particular scripture long enough to know your way around it in the dark. Or, perhaps its letting the Scripture barge into our heart, move our mental furniture around, sneaking into our secret rooms, and taking up residence for a while. Jesus said, “”If you abide (dwell, make your home) in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free” (John 8:31f).

My faith came alive when I stopped standing over Scripture and “using it” for my purposes and trying to merely apply it to my life like a cheap cologne.  The turning point was when I began to let the Scripture stand as judge over my life and I began to ask if my life was relevant to the Bible.  Instead of asking How does the Bible apply to my life, I asked the scary question: How do I apply myself to God’s life among us!

Hebrews 4:12 warns us that “the Word of God is alive and active, sharper than a two-edged sword” and able to pierce us deeply. I want to do a brief series of posts sharing some of the scriptures that have pierced my soul. These are scriptures that have taken up residence in my heart at various times and didn’t pack up and leave until they had really turned my life upside down.

This will be a very personal series sharing some of the most impactful moments of my walk with God. If anything, these posts will be good for my kids and grandkids to read long after I’m gone, as a sort of spiritual journal.

Read full series here.

Leave a Reply

