Yellow Brick Road Syndrome (by Mike Fox)

Matt 11:2-3, 15 “When John heard in prison what Christ was doing, he sent his disciples to ask him, “Are you the one who was to come, or should we expect someone else?…He who has ears, let him hear.” 

I suffer from what I call “The Yellow Brick Road Syndrome”.  I want to be Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz and have a clearly defined path – the yellow brick road – to walk.  My thought is that as long as I am on the yellow brick road, I can be certain that I am doing exactly what God wants.

The reality is that, when faced with hard decisions, I can’t see the yellow brick road and often times feel very alone.  I pray and I don’t hear an answer and wonder if God really cares about me as an individual.  I read the scriptures and don’t find anything that tells me if I should work for Company X or Company Y; if I should go to Church A or Church B; if I should donate to Charity 1 or Charity 2.  I want the Holy Spirit to step in and tell me which choice is best (the yellow brick road).

Unless your life is a lot different than mine, you realize that it is almost never that simple.  There is no yellow brick road.  God doesn’t control or want to control our every step.  We are faced with hundreds of big and small decisions every day.  God created us with free will and it is in the choices we make that we honor or disappoint God.

Throughout the gospels we hear Christ saying, “let those you have ears, hear”, “let those you have eyes, see”.  In one sense I think those words mean something like – “Pay attention and you will understand the lesson!” – and to be sure, there are lessons to be learned in the parables.  Recently I have heard another message in those words, “I am everywhere if you will just look and listen!”

I want all of my prayers to have specific answers – the yellow brick road – when, in reality, God doesn’t care if I wear black socks or brown socks.  He doesn’t care if I work for Company A or Company B.  What he really cares about is that I keep my eyes/ears/heart open to His teaching where ever I am.


One Comment Add yours

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and
    appearance. I must say that you’ve done a great job with this.
    Also, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Chrome.
    Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

