QUOTABLES: Wesley on God’s Book!

“To candid, reasonable men I am not afraid to lay open what have been the inmost thoughts of my heart. I have thought: I  am a creature of a day, passing through life as an arrow through the air. I am a spirit come from God and returning to God; just hovering over the great gulf till, a few moments hence, I am no more seen, I drop into an unchangeable eternity! I want to know one thing: the way to heaven, how to land safe on that happy shore. God himself has condescended to teach the way; for this very end he came from heaven. He hath written it down in a book. O give me that book! At any price, give me the book of God! I have it: here is knowledge enough for me. Let me be homo unius libri [a man of only one book]. Here then I am, far away from the busy ways of men. I sit down alone — only God is here. In his presence I open, I read his book from this end, to find the way to heaven.”

-John Wesley, “Preface” to Sermons on Several Occasions, vol. 1 (1746)

 

Leave a Reply

