Echoes from the Pit 3 – Unwanted Visitors

One last peek into my soul as a young adult, as I wrestled with depression and poured out my heart to God. The beauty of the Bible is that we see the raw, honest prayers of others in the Psalms and so on. We all struggle in this life, but the beauty of these painful prayers is that they are full of faith in the God who hears the cries of His children. I was reaching out in my pain, and not keeping it to myself. How about you?

UNWANTED VISITORS – November 2003

I hate it in here.

I’m hit on every side with negative thoughts.

If only they were just casual visitors from a far away land,

just passing through.

Then I could put up with them for a night or two,

maybe offer some decent hospitality,

feed them something little

and send them on their way

to pester some other unlucky host.

Yet these are not casual visitors.

These pesky, ruthless thoughts

are taking up residence in here,

and don’t have any intentions of leaving,

not without a fight.

And I cannot leave or escape my inner thoughts,

I must learn to either live with

or drive these corrosive messages away,

and make this Your home —

bring all your angels, too!

Turn the dark places into light,

I can’t take them anymore.

Make them go away,

NO VACANCY in here!

Renew my mind!

Now and forever.

“Take every thought captive to make it obedient to Christ” (2 Cor. 10:5).

Leave a Reply

