C.S. Lewis, Cupid & God’s Inescapable Love

Here’s a repost from last year worth sharing again. -JB

It’s Valentine’s Day.  The celebration heart-shaped candies that taste like chalk, and overpriced cards that tell our sweethearts what some Hallmark writer thinks — who, for all we know, has never even been on a date.  It’s the day of chocolates, amor and perhaps some sparkling beverage by a fireplace — if you can find a babysitter. (No, I’m not offering my services…)

On my way to church this morning I heard a sermon about C. S. Lewis’ conversion.  It’s a story of the relentless, irresistible, inescapable love of God towards reluctant men and women.  Then I came across a ridiculous cupid cartoon from 80 years ago that seems to sum up a kind of love that cannot be outran or hid from.

So, if you’re up for it, please read C.S. Lewis’ description of God’s inescapable love and then watch a silly video that humorously captures God’s “friendly fire” and agape arrows of grace that have the capacity to turn bitter, self-centered people into agents of his redeeming love!  Happy Valentine’s Day!

“You must picture me alone in that room in Magdalen, night after night, feeling, whenever my mind lifted even for a second from my work, the steady, unrelenting approach of Him whom I so earnestly desired not to meet. That which I greatly feared had at last come upon me. In the Trinity Term of 1929 I gave in, and admitted that God was God, and knelt and prayed: perhaps, that night, the most dejected and reluctant convert in all England….

…I did not then see what is now the most shining and obvious thing; the Divine humility which will accept a convert even on such terms. The Prodigal Son at least walked home on his own feet. But who can duly adore that Love which will open the high gates to a prodigal who is brought in kicking, struggling, resentful, and darting his eyes in every direction for a chance of escape?… The hardness of God is kinder than the softness of men, and His compulsion is our liberation.”

– Surprised by Joy

Leave a Reply

